The church of San Lorenzo was built in the early medieval period along Via Postumia, now Corso Cavour, with its façade facing west, towards those arriving in the city to reach Porta Borsari. Its reconstruction in the Romanesque period, in the third quarter of the 12th century (also attributable to Bishop Zufeto), was modelled on the layout of the Benedictine church of Santi Fermo e Rustico, which in turn was based on the second layout of Cluny Abbey: three naves, with three apses and two chapels, also with apses, forming a short transept. This design was created in a raised position using a system of pillars and columns arranged to form the double arch that characterises each span and the openings of the ladies' galleries, developed on the upper floor. The façade with two circular towers (which contain the staircases leading to the ladies' galleries) is apparently similar to German examples, but instead echoes the shape of Roman city gates (such as Porta Leoni). The church's present appearance, while recreating a two-storey Romanesque ecclesiastical setting with features unique to Verona, is largely the result of a reconstruction of the medieval form, begun in 1887 by Rector Pietro Scapini. The Rector ordered the removal of numerous alterations and decorations that had been added in modern times, mainly in the 16th and 17th centuries, and found himself having to rebuild part of the elevations. Among the surviving medieval frescoes, those from the 13th century particularly stand out: a Saint Francis in the north apse and a Saint Christopher near the south entrance.