The Palazzina di caccia of Stupinigi was a hunting lodge built for the Savoy family. Designed by Filippo Juvarra, construction began in May 1729 and finished in 1733. The site, part of the Savoy residences circuit in Piedmont, has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1997.
The Palazzina di caccia was built on the land of Emanuele Philibert’s first donation to the Order of Saints Maurice and Lazarus (1573) and is now owned by the Fondazione Ordine Mauriziano.
In Stupinigi, the garden of the hunting lodge and the surrounding hunting grounds are clearly distinguishable: the complex is set within a vast geometric garden that features a continuous succession of flowerbeds, parterres and avenues, which can, to all intents and purposes, be considered the garden of the residence.
Visitors can go on a tour that begins at the 18th-century Juvarra Stables, where guests are welcomed by the original sculpture of a deer by Francesco Ladatte.
Originally placed on the pavilion roof of the main structure of the Palazzina di caccia, it has since been replaced with a copy on the dome.