A church-museum in the heart of Arcevia.
The Collegiate Church of San Medardo is one of Arcevia's most emblematic landmarks and truly functions as a church-museum. Documented as early as 1208, it was elevated to collegiate status at the end of the 16th century and rebuilt between 1634 and 1644 to a design by Michele Buti, acquiring the monumental appearance it retains today.
Architecture and reconstruction
The building features an unfinished two-tier brick façade and a harmonious single-nave interior with side chapels. In the 17th century, the dome was damaged by major earthquakes and subsequently rebuilt; this intervention helped shape the Baroque appearance of the complex.
Masterpieces of the Renaissance and the 17th century
Inside, masterpieces of extraordinary value are housed. The Polyptych of Saint Medard (1507) and the Baptism of Christ (1508) by Luca Signorelli, among the most significant works of his maturity, stand out. Also of great importance is the monumental glazed terracotta altarpiece by Giovanni della Robbia, alongside paintings by Ercole Ramazzani, Claudio Ridolfi, Simone Cantarini and other masters.
The Parish Museum
The Collegiate Church is also home to the Parish Museum, which can be visited by appointment, allowing you to further explore the artistic and cultural richness of this place.