Centre of the high basin of the Scrivia torrent, it rises on a wooded inlet on the northern slopes of Mount Schigonzo. It owes its present name to the ancient Croce (toponym indicating the crossroads of ancient trade and communication routes) to which the name of the Fieschi family was later added. Unfortunately, only a few ruins of the 16th century castle of the Fieschi remain. The nucleus of the town is perched inside a narrow paved road originally paved with river pebbles and natural 'ciappe' (flat, thin stones) and restored, after various interventions, to its original appearance. The parish church of S. Croce, built in 1578 and resumed in 1686, the Palazzi Gemelli, dating back to the 16th and 17th centuries and commissioned by the Fieschi family, and the Giardino del Cavallo, recently renovated by the municipal administration, are worth a visit. The pleasant natural and wooded environment in which it is immersed make it a summer holiday destination and a starting point for numerous tourist and mountaineering excursions, including the challenging ascent to the Rocche del Reopasso. The aforementioned hamlet is also part of the Antola Regional Natural Park: one of the most enchanting areas of the Apennines and the Ligurian hinterland, thanks to the extraordinary panorama of the 1600 m Mount Antola and the activities of the nearby Brugneto Lake.