Forni di Sotto is the largest municipality in Carnia and the ruins of its castle can still be seen in the locality known as Chiastelàt. Completely razed to the ground in 1944 by the Nazis who set it on fire in retaliation, Forni di Sotto preserves from its past the fountains of the three hamlets into which it was divided, around which the town was rebuilt after the war. Its name probably derives from 'furno', meaning furnace for smelting minerals; in fact, in ancient times, minerals extracted from the surrounding mines were processed in this area. The town is the ideal starting point for excursions to the peaks of the Upper Tagliamento Valley and walks in the Friulian Dolomites Park. The small church of San Lorenzo, located in a charming position on the edge of the village, is worth a visit: it has a characteristic portico with a small bell gable and is frescoed with one of the most important cycles by Gianfrancesco da Tolmezzo, one of the main painters of the Friulian 15th century. Dated 1492, the frescoes depict the Doctors of the Church, the Martyrdom of St Lawrence, the Annunciation and Saints.