Sanctuary of the Seven Churches in Monselice
The Sanctuary of the Seven Churches, or the Jubilee Sanctuary of the Seven Churches, is located in Monselice in the province of Padua. It is the most important religious monumental complex in the area, near Abano and Montegrotto Terme.
This picturesque sacred way climbs the Colle della Rocca hill, where six tiny chapels climb one after the other up to the square in front of Villa Duodo, where the largest church, dedicated to Saint George, stands.
The seven churches were commissioned by Venetian nobleman Pietro Duodo, who had already settled on the site, having built his residence there with an adjoining private chapel. In 1605 he received permission from Pope Paul V to build and name the small churches after the seven imposing basilicas in Rome, obtaining the same privilege as a plenary indulgence granted to pilgrims who would go to visit them in Rome.
From the monumental entrance gate, the “Porta Romana”, surmounted by the inscription “Romanis Basilicis Pares”, begins the Jubilee Route of the Seven Churches, designed by architect Vincenzo Scamozzi between 1605 and 1615, as a miniature representation of the holy city of Rome.