The origin of the Spasimo dates back to 1506, when the jurisconsult Jacopo de Basilicò donated the area necessary for the construction of a church and convent to the monks of Monte Oliveto, presumably because of his devotion to the Madonna who is suffering, 'spasima' in fact, before Christ on the cross. In 1569, the Palermo Senate purchased the church and convent for military purposes. In 1624, the plague and the resulting need to expand Palermo's hospital facilities made it inevitable to convert part of the building into a "lazaretto" to house the sick. The structure was later used as a grain store and, later, as a hotel for the poor and as a "beggars' hut". In 1855, part of the Spasimo's original appearance was modified to house the hospital, while, after the Unification of Italy, some rooms were converted into warehouses. Since 1931, unfortunately, this place has suffered numerous damages due to earthquakes and floods, which could not be repaired. In 1988, renovation work began. Today, the Spasimo is one of the most fascinating places in Palermo, and hosts numerous cultural events, including theatre and musical performances and exhibitions.